Ploughmen have their work cut out for match

Raymond Smart with his Fordson N tractor and International plough.

World-leading local ploughmen took top honours at the Glenbervie and Howe o’ the Mearns centenary ploughing match.

The anniversary event was held in freezing cold and “greasy” ground conditions and many competitors worked with vintage tractors without cabs or central heating.

More than 60 tractors turned up to plough plots in the 90-acre field at Candy Farm, Drumlithie, part of the Forbes family’s Broombank Farm enterprise and the same land as was used at the district’s first ploughing match.

The overall champion was Dave Carnegie, from Laurencekirk, who is the current Scottish champion and a previous world leader.

“We had to work very hard with the ground being so greasy on top,” he said.

The reserve champion was Andrew Mitchell, from Forfar, another international ploughing star.

Ploughing Association chairman Munro Smith said he was delighted that the competition had finally taken place after twice being cancelled due to frost and bad weather.

The awards were: Novice conventional: 1 Andrew Johnstone, Fordoun, 101.5; 2 Fraser Beddie, Drumlithie, 94; 3 Reece Lawson, Drumlithie, 77.

Novice reversible: 1 Bruce Walker, Stonehaven, 100.5; 2 Russell Leslie, Fettercairn, 98.5; 3 Louise Airth, Drumlithie, 91.

Conventional: 1 Andrew Mitchell, Forfar, 132; 2 James Walker, Inverurie, 117 ; 3 Mark Skea, Inverurie, 116.

Two-furrow reversible butts: 1 Dave Carnegie, Laurencekirk, 122.5; 2 Gordon Beattie, Insch, 117; 3 Scott Alexander, Fetterairn, 115.

Two-furrow reversible non-hydraulic: 1 Alick Anderson, Huntly, 117; 2 Raymond Middleton, Elgin, 113.5; 3 Alec Keith, Oldmeldrum, 108.

Multi-furrow reversible: 1 Darren Scott, Fettercairn, 126; 2 Eddie Johnstone, Fordoun, 96; 3 James Airth, Drumlithie, 95.

Vintage lift: 1 Jock Sievwright, Meigle, 136.5; 2 Grant McDonald, Forfar, 122; 3 Ross McDonald, Aberdeen, 116.5.

Vintage trailing: 1 Morris Blacklaws, Carnoustie, 130.5; 2 Raymond Smart, Leven, 127; 3 Ed Bennie, Wormit, 122.

Non-hydraulic conventional: 1 Ian Milne, Peterhead, 101; 2 Bruce Smith, Drumlithie, 94.5; 3 Euan Anderson, Dundee, 94.

Demonstrators: 1 Ross Agri Services Ltd, St Cyrus; 2 Alan MacKay Ltd, Padanaram; 3 Agricar Ltd, Laurencekirk.

Overall novice: Andrew Johnstone, Fordoun.