Calendar An icon of a desk calendar. Cancel An icon of a circle with a diagonal line across. Caret An icon of a block arrow pointing to the right. Email An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of the Facebook "f" mark. Google An icon of the Google "G" mark. Linked In An icon of the Linked In "in" mark. Logout An icon representing logout. Profile An icon that resembles human head and shoulders. Telephone An icon of a traditional telephone receiver. Tick An icon of a tick mark. Is Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes. Is Not Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes with a diagonal line through it. Pause Icon A two-lined pause icon for stopping interactions. Quote Mark A opening quote mark. Quote Mark A closing quote mark. Arrow An icon of an arrow. Folder An icon of a paper folder. Breaking An icon of an exclamation mark on a circular background. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Caret An icon of a caret arrow. Clock An icon of a clock face. Close An icon of the an X shape. Close Icon An icon used to represent where to interact to collapse or dismiss a component Comment An icon of a speech bubble. Comments An icon of a speech bubble, denoting user comments. Ellipsis An icon of 3 horizontal dots. Envelope An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of a facebook f logo. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Home An icon of a house. Instagram An icon of the Instagram logo. LinkedIn An icon of the LinkedIn logo. Magnifying Glass An icon of a magnifying glass. Search Icon A magnifying glass icon that is used to represent the function of searching. Menu An icon of 3 horizontal lines. Hamburger Menu Icon An icon used to represent a collapsed menu. Next An icon of an arrow pointing to the right. Notice An explanation mark centred inside a circle. Previous An icon of an arrow pointing to the left. Rating An icon of a star. Tag An icon of a tag. Twitter An icon of the Twitter logo. Video Camera An icon of a video camera shape. Speech Bubble Icon A icon displaying a speech bubble WhatsApp An icon of the WhatsApp logo. Information An icon of an information logo. Plus A mathematical 'plus' symbol. Duration An icon indicating Time. Success Tick An icon of a green tick. Success Tick Timeout An icon of a greyed out success tick. Loading Spinner An icon of a loading spinner.

General Election 2019: Here’s what you missed across the north and north-east

Ian Blackford secured victory in Ross, Skye and Lochaber. Picture by Sandy McCook
Ian Blackford secured victory in Ross, Skye and Lochaber. Picture by Sandy McCook

For those of you just waking up, here’s the low-down of all that happened in the General Election across the north and north-east of Scotland.

It was a dramatic night as Boris Johnson’s Conservatives secured a thumping a majority, Lib Dem leader Jo Swinson and the SNP swept to victory in 48 seats north of the border.

SNP support surges in Aberdeen

The SNP gained Aberdeen South – the seat vacated by Ross Thomson – with Aberdeen City councillor Stephen Flynn triumphing with a majority just shy of 4,000.


(L-R) Lynn and Stephen Mark Flynn with Kirsty Blackman. Picture by Kenny Elrick.

Kirsty Blackman held on to Aberdeen North, her third win there in four years, increasing her majority and increasing her vote share to an astonishing 54%.

Conservatives cling on in three north-east seats but lose Gordon

Last night’s exit poll put the SNP at an incredible 55 seats but key figures in the party were keen to point out that the many marginals in Scotland meant that such a result would be unlikely.

In the end, the party still triumphed by a huge margin in Scotland and won 48 seats.

David Duguid held on to Banff and Buchan, securing a 4,000 vote majority over the SNP’s Paul Robertson.

Conservatives Andrew Bowie celebrates retaining his seat for West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine at P&J Live, Aberdeen. Picture by Kenny Elrick

Douglas Ross also held on to Moray for the Tories, although he won by less than 600 votes over the SNP’s Laura Mitchell.

It was a similar story for Andrew Bowie in West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine. He held on for a narrow victory over the SNP’s Fergus Mutch as his vote share fell by 5% and Nicola Sturgeon’s party rose by 8%.

Conservative Colin Clark did lose his seat in Gordon however, the Scotland office minister beaten by the SNP’s Richard Thomson.

Comfortable victories for Ian Blackford and Drew Hendry

The SNP’s Westminster group leader Ian Blackford was seen as a potential big-name casualty in the lead-up to the vote but it didn’t quite materialise for his Lib Dem challenger Craig Harrow.

The long-held seat of the late Charles Kennedy in Ross, Skye and Lochaber is Mr Blackford’s for the third time as he scooped 48% of the vote.


SNP’s Drew Hendry celebrates being re-elected for the Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey seat at Inverness Sports Centre. Picture by Sandy McCook

Former Highland Council leader Drew Hendry increased his majority to more than 10,000 votes in Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey as he won with 47.9% of the vote, a rise of 8% from 2017.

No change in the far north or the islands as Lib Dems hold two

The exit poll had both Jamie Stone and Alistair Carmichael sensationally losing their Lib Dem seats in Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross, and Orkney and Shetland respectively, but in the end, they both hung on. Just.

The General Election 2019 at P&J Live, for Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire. Picture of Ballot papers being counted. Picture by Kenny Elrick

Jamie Stone secured 37.2% of the vote in the far north, winning just 200 seats more than his SNP rival Karl Rosie.

It was less edgy for Mr Carmichael in the islands, as he held on despite a slight dip in his vote share.

The SNP’s Angus MacNeil was returned as the MP for the Western Isles, a seat he has held since 2005, as he doubled his majority with 45% of the vote. 

Jeremy Corbyn to stand down

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn announced he would not be staying on as Labour leader for another election following a disastrous night for the party.

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn speaks after the results was given at Sobell Leisure Centre for the Islington North constituency for the 2019 General Election. Picture: Joe Giddens/PA Wire

Mr Corbyn defended putting forward a “manifesto of hope” that would help wrong the injustices and inequalities gripping the nation and tackle the climate crisis. He will stay on until a new leader is found.

Lib Dem leader Jo Swinson loses her seat

Liberal Democrat leader Jo Swinson lost her East Dunbartonshire seat to the SNP’s Amy Callaghan, who took just 149 votes more.

Speaking after the loss, Mrs Swinson said: “But let me say now, for millions of people in our country these results will bring dread and dismay and people are looking for hope.

Lib Dem leader Jo Swinson reacts as she loses her East Dumbartonshire constituency, during the count at the Leisuredome, Bishopbriggs. Picture: Jane Barlow/PA Wire

“I still believe we as a country can be warm and generous, inclusive and open and that by working together with our nearest neighbours we can achieve so much more.”

The Lib Dems have appointed the party’s deputy leader Sir Ed Davey and president Baroness Sal Brinton as joint leaders.

Nicola Sturgeon filmed celebrating Jo Swinson’s defeat

Footage captured on Sky News appeared to show Scotland’s First Minister Nicola Sturgeon celebrating Jo Swinson losing her seat to the SNP. The footage quickly went viral.


Already a subscriber? Sign in