Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross: Meet your MP

Liberal Democrat candidate Jamie Stone is the new MP for Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross.

The former constituency MSP regained the seat for the Lib Dems with 11,061 votes.

He defeated previous incumbent Paul Monaghan (SNP) by more than 2,000 votes.

In the run up to the election, Mr Stone vowed to protect and improve services such as health and education, which he claims “are being badly hit by a Scottish Government with an entirely central belt viewpoint.”

He added: “Also, a priority issue is that the MP should at all times be the clear voice of the constituency rather than simply being the voice of political masters in London or Edinburgh.

“My political record as both a councillor and an MSP shows that I always put the interests of constituents first.”