A museum in a former railway station will celebrate a recent revamp during an upcoming open weekend which will shine new light onto its past.
Maud Railway Museum, located in the old station at Maud Junction, will host the event on Saturday August 10 and Sunday, August 11.
Some areas were previously overgrown on the site and have been cleared to reveal several of the former facilities, such as the locomotive water tower.
And new signs have been prepared to form a short heritage trail to interest visitors.
The fully restored railway carriage which was used to carry convicts from Peterhead prison to the quarries at Stirlinghill, near Boddam, will be available to explore too.
There is also a display of photographs telling the story of the Fraserburgh to St Combs Light Railway which operated from 1903 to 1965.
Currently, plans are being drawn up to enlarge and improve the museum and surrounding railway infrastructure.
Negotiations are under way with Aberdeenshire Council to take over a second unit within the old station to allow for the expansion.
The trustees are seeking to recruit new members and volunteers to become involved in the planning.
They will also be tasked to assist in looking after the museum and its visitors, and to help with the many ongoing tasks required as part of general maintenance.
Museum trustees will be on hand to discuss such matters with anyone interested.
Opening times are from 10.30am to 4pm on both days and entry is free.