Calendar An icon of a desk calendar. Cancel An icon of a circle with a diagonal line across. Caret An icon of a block arrow pointing to the right. Email An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of the Facebook "f" mark. Google An icon of the Google "G" mark. Linked In An icon of the Linked In "in" mark. Logout An icon representing logout. Profile An icon that resembles human head and shoulders. Telephone An icon of a traditional telephone receiver. Tick An icon of a tick mark. Is Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes. Is Not Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes with a diagonal line through it. Pause Icon A two-lined pause icon for stopping interactions. Quote Mark A opening quote mark. Quote Mark A closing quote mark. Arrow An icon of an arrow. Folder An icon of a paper folder. Breaking An icon of an exclamation mark on a circular background. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Caret An icon of a caret arrow. Clock An icon of a clock face. Close An icon of the an X shape. Close Icon An icon used to represent where to interact to collapse or dismiss a component Comment An icon of a speech bubble. Comments An icon of a speech bubble, denoting user comments. Ellipsis An icon of 3 horizontal dots. Envelope An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of a facebook f logo. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Home An icon of a house. Instagram An icon of the Instagram logo. LinkedIn An icon of the LinkedIn logo. Magnifying Glass An icon of a magnifying glass. Search Icon A magnifying glass icon that is used to represent the function of searching. Menu An icon of 3 horizontal lines. Hamburger Menu Icon An icon used to represent a collapsed menu. Next An icon of an arrow pointing to the right. Notice An explanation mark centred inside a circle. Previous An icon of an arrow pointing to the left. Rating An icon of a star. Tag An icon of a tag. Twitter An icon of the Twitter logo. Video Camera An icon of a video camera shape. Speech Bubble Icon A icon displaying a speech bubble WhatsApp An icon of the WhatsApp logo. Information An icon of an information logo. Plus A mathematical 'plus' symbol. Duration An icon indicating Time. Success Tick An icon of a green tick. Success Tick Timeout An icon of a greyed out success tick. Loading Spinner An icon of a loading spinner.

Aberdeen can ruin Rangers’ title party and unbeaten league run – they have done it before!

Aberdeen's Andrew Considine celebrates scoring the winner at Celtic in May 2018.
Aberdeen's Andrew Considine celebrates scoring the winner at Celtic in May 2018.

Aberdeen have previous form for wrecking season-long unbeaten streaks of Rangers and Celtic – and will have to do the same at Ibrox tomorrow.

The Dons are aiming to ruin Rangers’ title party in Govan on the day Steven Gerrard’s side will be presented with the Premiership trophy.

Rangers have a 100% Premiership record at home this season, having won all 18  league games at Ibrox, scoring 53 goals and conceding just four times on their home patch.

One of those victories was a 4-0 humbling of  ]Aberdeen in November.

Providing Aberdeen don’t score twice tomorrow, Rangers will set a new British record for the least goals conceded in a league campaign.

In contrast, the Dons have netted just 36 goals in 37 games.

If Stephen Glass’ side fail to score at Ibrox tomorrow, they will equal the worst-ever return of 36 goals in a season in Aberdeen’s 118-year history.

That unwanted mark was set only four times previously – in 1904/05, 1916/17, 2009/10 and 2011/12.

The stats do not point to an Aberdeen win, which is why bookmakers have made the Reds 10-1 outsiders to triumph and dampen Rangers title celebrations.

However, there is precedence of the Dons ruining the unbeaten runs, title parties and league title bids of Rangers and Celtic on the last day of the season.

Dramatic win at Ibrox  in 1968 ends Rangers’ hopes of finishing the season unbeaten – and their title dream – on a day Sir Alex Ferguson scored

On April 27, 1968 the Dons decimated Rangers’ season with victory on the last day of their campaign that not only ended the Ibrox side’s unbeaten league run, but denied them the title crown.

Rangers had gone the entire season unbeaten when they faced Eddie Turnbull’s Aberdeen at Ibrox in the final day of the campaign.

The title race went to the wire and, despite having not lost in the league, Rangers still trailed Celtic by goal difference.

Aberdeen had not won at Ibrox since 1961 and the 40,000 crowd were expecting that run to continue when former Don Dave Smith fired the home side in front after 17 minutes.

The Dons levelled through Dave Johnston 12 minutes later, before Alex Ferguson, who would later go on to achieve managerial greatness with Aberdeen and Manchester United, restored Rangers’ lead early in the second half.

Legendary manager Eddie Turnbull led the Dons to victory at Ibrox.

Johnston netted his second to level in the 58th minute.

With Rangers pushing forward to recapture the lead, the Dons broke away seconds from full-time, with substitute Ian Taylor silencing the home crowd with a winner.

It was a hammer blow to Rangers’ title hopes and the Ibrox side had to hope leaders Celtic lost by a huge margin to Dunfermline Athletic in their final league game the following week.

Celtic won 2-1 to claim the title.

RANGERS: Sorenen, Johansen, Mathieson, Greig, McKinnon, Smith, Henderson, Willoughby, Ferguson, Johnston, Presson.

ABERDEEN: Clark, Whyte, Shewan, Petersen, McMillan, Buchan, Little, Smith, Johnston, Robb, Craig (Taylor).

How the Evening Express reported the win at Ibrox.

Andy Considine’s winner flattens Celtic title champagne as Aberdeen secure runners-up finish

There is recent precedent for Aberdeen popping the balloons on a title celebration as they defeated Celtic 1-0 at Parkhead on May 13, 2018 – the day Brendan Rodgers’ side received the Premiership trophy.

Celtic went into the game undefeated domestically at Parkhead for two years since Rodgers had taken over in 2016.

The Dons had not won at Parkhead in the league in 26 previous attempts.

Andrew Considine fires Aberdeen in front at Parkhead.

Celtic were set to celebrate a seventh successive league title, but the Dons had other ideas as their fight to finish runners-up was still very much alive.

Aberdeen were denied the opener in the 10th minute when Greg Stewart’s free-kick from 20 yards crashed off the crossbar.

To the delight of the travelling Dons support, in the 47th minute, Andy Considine broke the deadlock when powering a superb finish beyond keeper Scott Bain at the near post.

Celtic would push on in an attempt to keep their unbeaten home record, but keeper Joe Lewis saved a Leigh Griffiths free-kick and a Stuart Armstrong drive.

As the Hoops piled on the pressure, Lewis then saved a Griffiths header.

Aberdeen held on to secure the win required to finish Premiership runners-up for a fourth successive season.

Nearest rivals Rangers drew 5-5 in a 10-goal thriller at Easter Road.

The Ibrox side finished three points behind Aberdeen.

Jubilant Andrew Considine celebrates with Graeme Shinnie after putting Aberdeen ahead at Parkhead in 2018.

The Dons will need to tap into the heroics of 1968 and 2018 to overcome Rangers tomorrow and dampen the celebrations when they receive the trophy at the end of the match.

Third place may be gone for Aberdeen following the 1-0 loss to Hibs on Wednesday.

But they are fighting for the pride of the club and to go into the summer and Glass’ squad rebuilding with positive, winning momentum.

CELTIC: Bain, Lustig, Boyata, Ajer, Tierney (Sinclair 52), Brown, Ntcham (Armstrong 68), Forrest, Rogic, McGregor, Dembele (Griffiths 52).

ABERDEEN: Lewis, Logan, O’Connor, Reynolds, Considine, Ball, Shinnie, Stewart (Campbell 65), McLean, Mackay-Steven (May 85), Cosgrove (Rooney 72).

Aberdeen’s Andrew Considine celebrates his winner at Parkhead in May 2018.

Already a subscriber? Sign in