Where modern meets traditional, His Majesty’s Theatre in Aberdeen is one of the city’s many silver spots that has seen plenty of changes.
Opening in 1906, it was one of the first theatres ever made from granite and is now considered one of the busiest tour spots north of the central belt.
In 2003 the 109-year-old Edwardian building closed its doors to make way for a £7million glass extension to bring a bar and restaurant, a new green room and more rehearsal space to the iconic building.
But how did the most bustling venue in the north come to look how it does now?
From a time when cobbles paved the road to a now central hotspot, these eight pictures depict the development of His Majesty’s and the surrounding area through the years.
The cafe at the old School Station was demolished in the 1970s.
Schoolhill and Rosemount Viaduct in 1893