Calendar An icon of a desk calendar. Cancel An icon of a circle with a diagonal line across. Caret An icon of a block arrow pointing to the right. Email An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of the Facebook "f" mark. Google An icon of the Google "G" mark. Linked In An icon of the Linked In "in" mark. Logout An icon representing logout. Profile An icon that resembles human head and shoulders. Telephone An icon of a traditional telephone receiver. Tick An icon of a tick mark. Is Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes. Is Not Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes with a diagonal line through it. Pause Icon A two-lined pause icon for stopping interactions. Quote Mark A opening quote mark. Quote Mark A closing quote mark. Arrow An icon of an arrow. Folder An icon of a paper folder. Breaking An icon of an exclamation mark on a circular background. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Caret An icon of a caret arrow. Clock An icon of a clock face. Close An icon of the an X shape. Close Icon An icon used to represent where to interact to collapse or dismiss a component Comment An icon of a speech bubble. Comments An icon of a speech bubble, denoting user comments. Ellipsis An icon of 3 horizontal dots. Envelope An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of a facebook f logo. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Home An icon of a house. Instagram An icon of the Instagram logo. LinkedIn An icon of the LinkedIn logo. Magnifying Glass An icon of a magnifying glass. Search Icon A magnifying glass icon that is used to represent the function of searching. Menu An icon of 3 horizontal lines. Hamburger Menu Icon An icon used to represent a collapsed menu. Next An icon of an arrow pointing to the right. Notice An explanation mark centred inside a circle. Previous An icon of an arrow pointing to the left. Rating An icon of a star. Tag An icon of a tag. Twitter An icon of the Twitter logo. Video Camera An icon of a video camera shape. Speech Bubble Icon A icon displaying a speech bubble WhatsApp An icon of the WhatsApp logo. Information An icon of an information logo. Plus A mathematical 'plus' symbol. Duration An icon indicating Time. Success Tick An icon of a green tick. Success Tick Timeout An icon of a greyed out success tick. Loading Spinner An icon of a loading spinner.

Nearly half of councillors step down from Moray Council in election exodus

Regardless of the results of the forthcoming election, Moray Council will be shaken up after the votes have been counted.

Nearly half of the previous authority members have opted not to put their name forward again – with just 14 of the previous 26’s names on the ballot papers.

Independents make up the bulk of the 45-candidate field with 16 nominees not affiliating themselves to any group.

The SNP, who were the largest party at the last vote in 2012, are fielding 13 candidates, the highest of any in the field.

There was previously an independent and Conservative coalition in the chambers and the Tories are fielding one candidate in each of the eight wards this time around.

Ron Shepherd is a surprise name on the list after previously saying he was stepping down. Elsewhere, Theresa Coull, mum of departing SNP leader Gary Coull, stands for the same party as her son and Labour’s John Divers will attempt to make it to a fourth decade in office after being elected in 1999.

Speyside Glenlivet

Angus Anderson, SNP; Louise Laing, SNP; Derek Ross, Ind; Walter Wilson, Con.

Keith and Cullen

Rob Barsby, Ind; Theresa Coull, SNP; Donald Gatt, Con; Iain Grieve, SNP; Ron Shepherd, Ind.


Gordon Cowie, Ind; Tim Eagle, Con; Gordon McDonald, SNP; Sonya Warren, SNP.

Fochabers Lhanbryde

David Bremner, SNP; Donald Cameron, LD; Kenneth Gillespie, Ind; Peter Horton, LD; Marc Macrae, Con; Shona Morrison, SNP; Sean Morton, Ind; Ian Taylor, Ind.

Heldon and Laich

James Allan, Con; John Cowe, Ind; Ryan Edwards, Ind; James MacKessack-Leitch, Green; John Mitchell, LD; Amy Patience, SNP; Dennis Slater, Ind.

Elgin City North

Billy Adams, Ind; Frank Brown, Con; Sandy Cooper, Ind; Paula Coy, SNP; Patsy Gowans, SNP; Nick Taylor, Lab.

Elgin City South

John Divers, Lab; Graham Leadbitter, SNP; Sean Malone, Ind; Ray McLean, Con.


George Alexander, Ind; Lorna Cresswell, Ind; Claire Feaver, Con; Jeff Hamilton, Ind; Aaron McLean, SNP; Terry Monaghan, Ind; Fabio Villani, Green.

Already a subscriber? Sign in